Friday, August 14, 2009

Philippine Holidays in 2010

The year just passed half way but the office of the President had already announced the holidays for 2010.

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo signed Proclamation 1841, declaring regular holidays, special non-working holidays, and special school holidays for 2010. The proclamation is in line with Republic Act 9492, which provides that all non-religious holidays be moved to the nearest Monday.

Regular holidays covered by RA 9492 next year are:

January 1 – New Year’s Day
April 1 – Maundy Thursday
April 2 – Good Friday
April 9 – Araw ng Kagitingan
June 14 (Monday nearest June 12) – Independence Day
August 30 – National Heroes’ Day May 1 – Labor Day
November 29 (Monday nearest November 30) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 – Christmas Day
December 27 (Monday nearest December 30) – Rizal Day

Special non-working holidays include:

August 23 (Monday nearest August 21) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 – All Saints’ Day
December 24 - Christmas Eve
December 31 – Last Day of the Year

Aside from these, the President also declared February 22 (Monday nearest February 25), EDSA Revolution anniversary next year as a special school holiday.

Meanwhile, the Palace said proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of the end of Ramadan (Eid’l Fitr) and the Feast of the Sacrifice (Eid’l Adha) shall be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.

The second Monday of May should also be declared as National elections will be held sans any constitutional amendment.

So where are you off to? Ah, this is crazy, i need to save up! :D

No comments:

Search This Blog